Hierarchy of Needs: Status Update

Okay, no more of this nonsense. Let’s get back to wellness! Cold, infection, or whatever notwithstanding. Remember Maslow and his handy pyramid? Here:

stb-hierarchy

Physiological Needs:
Breathing is cool, if slightly impeded by whatever sickness I’ve got going on recently. Food and water are always covered, thanks to the folks I work for as well as my parents and the side gigs I take on here and there. Shelter, check! Clothing, check! Sleep is hit or miss, but definitely improving. There are thankfully no real barriers for me when it comes to this category.
Safety and Security:
Health will be better when I kick this cold and get back to exercising how I like. Employment is definitely a source of stress, but I do have the nannying and soon I’ll start driving for Lyft (I’ll be eligible for their rental program once I turn 25 in about a week). Property… Not sure exactly what this one is going for. Owning a home? Have stuff? I have shelter and I have things, so I guess I’m covered here. Family. My family has always been complicated at best but we love each other and I’m sure that’s what counts. They are actually doing relatively well these days. My parents/grandparents are finally fixing up the house which is giving them all something to do together. Social stability is cool I think. I have no serious issues with socializing and I’m not caught up in any drama.
Love and Belonging:
This is a good one. From what I understand, this is where we get stuck most often. My friends these days are truly the bees knees. I have family who love me and answer when I call. Intimacy has always been a bit of a struggle for me. Feeling connected to people doesn’t really come naturally. I’m working on it though!
Self-Esteem:
Confidence is an ongoing project. I don’t think about my body as much as I used to, which is very good. Achievement is a tricky one. I haven’t fully forgiven myself for not having a degree yet, but I am visiting a university today so I’m at least taking real steps to get there. I’d like to have stable employment, at least a bachelor’s degree, and have a working knowledge of world events and politics among other things. Respect of others. Do I have the respect of some people? Sure. Probably. I do not frequently feel disrespected. Am I a unique individual? Hah I’m not sure any of us is.
Self Actualization:
Morality I think is easier than we make it out to be. I believe that there are “good” and “bad” and I believe we can classify things, actions, intentions, consequences, etc. as such. I am not a terribly creative person. Are there ways to work on that? Spontaneity is right up my alley. I like to think I’m a “yes girl”. Acceptance…of what? I sometimes feel accepted and sometimes I don’t. I think I am pretty accepting of other people. Simply the Basics is helping me to experience purpose. I was definitely lacking here previously. Meaning and Inner Potential. I’m not going to pretend to know what that means. I’ll look it up and get back to you.

I’m off to finish off the green curry I made two nights ago, and take the fluffy pup upstairs out for a rainy walk.

TTFN,

❤ Grace

Leave a Reply

